The City of Zürich is divided into 12 districts and 34 quarters.
The agglomeration of Zürich is made up of the City of Zürich and 130 other municipalities.
The Zürich Metropolitan Area has some 1.9 million inhabitants and 900,000 employees spread across 238 municipalities in eight cantons.


Zürich is the largest city in Switzerland with a population of over 380,500, an increase of 19,500 since year 2000.  1.1 million people live in Zürich agglomeration, while there are 1.9 million in the metropolitan area.

By 2008, 31% of the city’s population was made up of non-Swiss from a total of 166 different countries, all of whom help to make up Zürich’s multi-cultural character.
10% of all foreigners who move to Switzerland come to the City of Zürich, emphasizing its central role as an economic hub.